April 2013
Loved the charm and flowers

Jim D

"I got relaxed walking through the grounds looking at all the flowers and trees,loved sitting by the pond. Great sunning by the pool, and playing tennis. So much stuff and still a feeling of country. Short walk to town. Owners live on premise witch is nice they take care of the place. "

March 2013
Great Place to Stay in Hampton Bays

Liz M

"Lovely setting, clean, cozy, pool, tennis, can get a room or a bungalow. Owners are wonderful and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Also well located to all areas of the Hamptons. Have to call a few months in advance to be booked in the summer. "

September 2012
Serene and Relaxing

Maureen M

"I have visited BOWENS BY THE BAYS prior to this year and have never been disapointed. KEVIN AND EILEEN are very willing to accommodate your every need.Our room was nicely decorated with a cowboy theme and was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with flowers everywhere! The pool was a gem as well as the play gym and sandbox for the kids.We also got a chance to enjoy the tennis court. The beach was only 3 miles away and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area. We will definitely be back!! "

July 2012
Thanks again -

S.T.

"I want to thank you all so much for our wonderful stay at your resort. The gardens are gorgeous and the pool wonderful. Although I am sure you have been told this before - you take such care to make each room so individual - I don't know when I have ever been to a hotel or motel of bed and breakfast that has so much care taken. I know it must be a lot of work to keep it looking like that but you all make is seem easy. I am also thinking about that shuffleboard which I haven't played in years - I am going to have to come back for that! "

June 8, 2012
Lovely, beautiful and peaceful!

Manderson639

"We had a great stay a Bowen's. We are a family of five travelling to the area for a family wedding. Eileen was very accommodating and recommended a 3 BR cottage for us. It was just perfect -- clean, fresh and so comfortable. There are many little homey touches that add to the atmosphere of this quiet place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and although we did not have time for a swim, the pool looked awesome! The location was very convenient -- right off of the highway -- and the little shopping center across the street came in handy for a morning coffee and donut run (although there is a coffee maker and coffee in the cottage). We were so busy with the wedding activities of the weekend -- I just wish we had more time to relax at this beautiful place. P.S. I kept calling our cottage the "house at Pooh corner" in the hundred acre wood -- it's just that special! "

May 22, 2012
Relaxing retreat

Julie248

"My parents, my dog, and myself stayed in one of the 2BR cottages at Bowen's for a long weekend out of the city. Eileen was beyond helpful on the front end, assisting us with selecting the perfect cottage setup (with the right number/kind of beds, enough privacy for everyone, etc) and responding to questions when my plans almost changed at the last minute due to work. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and given a welcome bag (complete with some local info and a dog biscuit). Upon our request, Eileen recommended nearby restaurants for dinner and marked a map for us with their locations - they all turned out to be delicious.

The property is very well maintained with lots of lush grass, shady trees, and pretty landscaping. My dog really enjoyed his walks on the lawns. On that note, it really was a pleasure to stay where dogs are truly welcome rather than just allowed. Our cottage was also adorable and home-y. The bed was the most comfortable hotel/B&B bed I've slept in lately, and it was great to have a living area and kitchen. The best part was probably the screened porch our cottage had, along with the hammock out front. Sitting on a porch or laying in a hammock are just about the nicest ways to start and end a day.

"I had not been to the area before, but I found Hampton Bays to be charming and close to the other places we wanted to visit. It also had plenty of nice restaurant options for dinner, plus there is a grocery store across the street from Bowen's if you want to pick up some supplies. "

May 21, 2012
A pleasant surprise

Nrock

"Our family of five, plus dog, stayed one night this past weekend. I wasn't expecting much from a motel and cottages located between a state highway and the railroad tracks but was very pleasantly surprised. Our greeting was very warm and the welcome bag a nice touch. There has been a lot of love, thought and effort put into to grounds and you can feel it, hammocks outside every cottage, new flowers planted everywhere and everything tidy. Despite the challenges of the location already mentioned I didn't notice either the traffic or the trains particularly. Our boys were very pleased with it and would be glad to come back. I debated whether to give it the highest review since it's not a luxury hotel but decided to go ahead since it is certainly the best of it's type that we have visited. If we had a need to be in Hampton Bays or the Area again I would be happy to stay another night. "

August 17, 2010
The Perfect Getaway!

Theresa S.

"The resort is absolutely heavenly - picturesque and peaceful with plenty of activities for everyone in the family with the ocean just a few miles away. The decor is lovely and the rooms/cottages are clean and well-equipped. The owner and staff are absolutely the nicest people I have met in a long time. It was our first trip to Bowen's but will not be our last!

This resort is a hidden jewel!"

"Many Hamptons hotels don't offer much value for money, but Bowen's by the Baysis an exception. It attracts loyal guests who return again and again to enjoy immaculate rooms, sprawling grounds and a welcoming staff. It's an ideal place if you're traveling with kids. The property has a pool, tennis and shuffleboard courts, and even a fishpond and playground."

New York Daily News - April 4, 2007
Hampton Family Life Magazine - June/July 2004

This family-owned resort in Hampton Bays is celebrating its thirteenth summer for good reason. The three-acre property boasts not only nine regular rooms but also one-, two- and three-bedroom private guesthouses surrounded by flowers and a stunning waterfall. Proprietress Eileen Bowen says, "it has the personality and feel of a B&B but the privacy of a hotel. And we're very family oriented. A lot of places don't want kids." That's right, it's a recommended stop for your relatives with pets and kids - or simply restless uncles who can't last a day that doesn't include tennis whites.

Kevin Bowen, Eileen's husband, is a tennis pro who has brought his talents to the business. Instruction is offered day and night on an onsite lighted tennis court. The kids can keep busy at the pool, playground, shuffleboard court and putting green. Mom may be meandering over to the koi pond for some contemplative R&R while she watches fireflies flit about her iced tea.

While Bowen's has a more modest, campground look than many other resorts, each room is beautifully decorated, some with hand-stenciled furniture. Your family can also skip out easily to go riverboat cruising or on winery tours, visit a petting zoo or aquarium and go outlet shopping. And it's equidistant from many points east and west that offer glitzier fare - should your visitors prefer celebrity to cricket sightings.

Petside.com - May 13, 2009
Petside Picks: Pet Friendly Hotels

Petside has found the most pet friendly hotels in the nation! These locations offer the most amenities and the best service to their four-legged guests of any hotels in the US. From Los Angeles to New York City, your pet can have a first-class experience away from home, no matter how far you travel. So next time you vacation with your pet, check out these locations to ensure a great stay for you and your furry friend:

#4 Bowens by the Bays
Why we love it: Animals of all species and sizes are welcome at this Hamptons resort. Pets are free to romp and play on four acres of property. They also have house-like cottages which may make your pet more comfortable.

Bowen's named "Eco-Warrior"
Blue Moon Media Group - 2007

"In contrast to Xanterra's massive environmental investments are the basic, yet groundbreaking, beginnings of eco-tourism on Long Island's East End. In Hampton Bays, Bowen's by the Bays resort's three-acre grounds have been transformed from sandy lifeless soil to lush gardens, using organic, eco-friendly duck manure, local seaweed and mulched leaves. Bowen's washes all linens on site and opts to dry them the old-fashioned way: on the line.

Reviews posted on Trip Advisor

"fabulous experience"

ivy_jim
sebring FL
Jan 21, 2010 | Trip type: Couples

This resort is the most enjoyable stay possible. Incredible cleanliness, friendliness and value. The resort has an excellent pool, tennis court, (Kevin, an owner, is a teaching pro), and unbelievable gardens. A family owned and operated resort where Eileen and Kevin Bowen will go the ultimate mile to assure a pleasant stay. The rates are very reasonable for the area and the resort in on an acreage isolated from the hubbub of traffic. Overall, I would rate this as the most enjoyable experience I have ever has in the area.

"It was very enjoyable"

Gardenergal
New York
Sep 18, 2009 | Trip type: Couples

My husband and I and our toy poodle and Cat, just returned from a 5 day stay at Bowens. This property consists of housekeeping cottages and a Motel unit on perfectly manicured grounds. They have a large outdoor swimming pool, a tennis court, where you can take tennis lessons, a play area with monkey bars and swings for the children. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a kitchen, and a living room with cable TV. The proprietors and staff were very accommodating. The cottage was neat and clean and very comfortable. This is the fourth year we have visited and plan to go again next year. Edie

"This is the place to relax"

babydaze92
Delaware
Aug 9, 2009 | Trip type: Solo travel

This is my 4th year at Bowens by the Bay. I am from Delaware and usually take 5 days a year off to "recharge". This will sound crazy, but I take my Golden Retriever with me. It's just the two of us and it is the only time I can really "unwind". If you want to relax, this is the place! The staff is superb, service excellent, and the accommodations, well I couldn't ask for more. When checking in, I was greeted by Eileen Bowen. She handed my "gift bag" with water, some snacks, and dog biscuits. The rules for my dog (i.e. leashes, etc.) were included and specifically addressed to "Abigail", my Golden. They don't miss a detail! Upon entering my cottage, the aroma of "cleanliness" was apparent. I took my Golden to South Hampton (highly recommended) for lunch. Many of the restaurants with outside seating are very accommodating to pets. A good run on the beach (after 6pm) is fun, and back to the cottage for some reading. There are many things to do there, pool, tennis courts, tennis lessons, or you can just walk along the 4 acres of ground and adore the flowers! I have never seen such beautiful flowers throughout the property! I would highly recommend, and will be counting the days till I can unwind next year.

"Nice place to stay!"

JKLCapeCod
Cape Cod
Jun 18, 2009 | Trip type:

Couples Me, my husband and two dogs travel to Long Island in the fall each year to enjoy the grilled corn, shopping and foliage, and Bowens could not be any more accommodating. We stayed in an adorable screened in two bedroom cottage with our dogs. The place was immaculate, comfortable, and the customer service received by the owners (from original email to check out) was top notch! She even came over to our car when we were checking out to pet our dogs :) Can't wait to get back there this October.

"Delightful Retreat"

Messyjesse
NY
Dec 1, 2008 | Trip type:

Business It's a little strange to mail a check in order to reserve a room these days - but our stay here couldn't have been more pleasant.
The grounds of the motel are great, a playground and tennis courts, and a great little pool - you feel sufficiently sheltered in by the trees. Room was very clean, bathroom and shower were clean and modern - although it's clearly a mom and pop run business, they were quite friendly and immensely helpful and honest when suggesting local options for dining and taxi cabs. I would highly recommend and plan on staying here again.

"Terrific Hamptons Hideaway"

JML17 1 contribution
New York
Sep 15, 2008

We spent a relaxing weekend at Bowen's by the Bays this summer. The room was immaculate, the property and landscaping was beautiful, and the staff was very friendly. The location is great too, right near town and only a short drive to the beach. There is a lot to do without even leaving the property, such as playing tennis on their beautiful court or relaxing by the pool. It was a great place to stay and we're looking forward to returning.

Tranquil, beautiful!

Beth2u 5 contributions
NYC
Sep 3, 2008 | Trip type: Family

What a wonderful, beautiful place! We enjoyed our stay and definitely will return next year. My husband booked this place for us because he didn't want us driving back home at night. The kids loved being in the pool. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, the grounds are well kept and the owners are so pleasant and accommodating Our room Lobelia was clean as a whistle. There is a brand new McDonalds and Stop and Shop across the street - which is great. Yet once you enter the gates of Bowen's it's another world. Loooved it!!