“"Excellent Value for Money"” – Reviewed August 8, 2014

 

My stay at "Bowen's by the Bays" was what I would call "An Affair To Remember"! What an amazing place! Everything, and I mean, everything, is impeccably clean and neat! The location can not be better! The owners and the whole atmosphere are more than friendly! As for the attractive, colorful, well manicured lawns, it seems that all the most beautiful flowers in the world decided to move there! I highly, I repeat, highly, recommend this delightful place!                        

 

“Relax and Have Fun” – Reviewed August 3, 2014

 

on the premises golf putting, shuffleboard, pool, hammocks, bbq, games in the screened in porch, and night time tennis under the lights. Nearby to great golf, the beach, dog walks, hiking, and amazing restaurants. Why shlep the extra 2 hours past east Hampton when it is all here at Bowen’s. We loved the place, amazing hosts, nothing fancy but good clean, energetic fun. Do come and check it out, you will like it, unless you require fancy accommodations. Plenty more of those, for plenty more money. If you like the simple things and good family fun, come here.

 

“Best family vacation yet!” Stayed August 2014

 

This is our second summer staying with the Bowen's! A GREAT vacation for our family. Blew away our expectations this year. We have a 2 and 4 year old and the amount of things we did this year was amazing. Within half an hour we went to beaches, kid's museums, aquariums, amusement parks, movies and restaurants. And that's just what we did outside the grounds. When on the grounds, I grilled on personal charcoal grille 5 days in a row, the kids played on the playground, swam in the pool and just hung out as a family with provided board games in the cottage.
The Bowen's are special people and were always willing to give us their time for meaningful conversation or quick tips on what to do in area or how to get there with local traffic.
Can't wait to go back

 

“An amazing place that just keeps getting better” - August 1, 2014

 

It is hard to believe that 8 years ago I was fortunate enough to stumble onto Bowen’s by the Bays. It seems like yesterday that I first found this hidden gem. Let’s start with how relaxing this place is. It is peaceful, dog friendly, and most importantly, spotlessly clean. Before my 2 year old Golden Retriever Isabelle, I travelled with travelled with my other Golden, Abigail. The Bowen’s just got a really nice, adorable 7 month old rescue dog (Ruby). Ruby and my Isabelle, became best of friends! Bowen’s was (until this year) a place that I relaxed for a week, with my dog, and then returned to work recharged (I thought). Since I had such a great time for one week all these years, I decided to try two weeks. This was the first time in my career that I have ever taken two weeks’ vacation.
As I relaxed, one of the things I noticed was Eileen Bowen “zipping” around the grounds at a very quick pace. The amazing thing about her is, as quickly as she moved from cottage to cottage and room to room, when a guest had a question, everything came to a halt. I witnessed her stop, focus on the guest and make them feel like they were the only person on the grounds at the time. Kevin, her husband, also taught tennis on the grounds, but is recuperating from foot surgery this year. He was zipping around the grounds too; only in a golf cart! You would hear him say to guests, “If you need anything, just let us know”! What an amazing gift these two have.
This place redefines a family run business. I got to know Mrs. Bowen (Kevin’s mother) and Anastasia, both wonderful people, with clearly the same work ethic as the Bowen’s. Mrs. Bowen is moving quickly, and Anastasia, well she is well, one in a million. I have seen her cleaning the pool in the morning, then the cottages in the afternoon. Each time she would see a guest, her smile and wave made you feel like you were home!
The second week of my vacation my daughter, her husband, and my 2 grandchildren joined me. There was so much for them to do! But back to the Bowen’s attention to detail. Eileen knew they were coming for the second week, and had children’s themed bedspreads in their room! My 4 yr. old grandson liked the train bedspreads so much, he refused to pull them down and never a day went by that my 2 yr. old grandson would come grab my hand and walk me into the “train room” to show me his brothers train bed!
One more thing that will give a good idea of the type of place this is. The Bowens noticed that my daughter and her husband were never without the children. So, what did they do? They approached them and suggested that they take a night off for themselves. They explained that they just had a cancellation in one of the motel rooms and suggested that I watch the children while they went to dinner and the room was on them for the night! How thoughtful! Did they do this because I have been a customer for so many years? Did they do it because they are really great business people? Did they do it because they are just the most genuine, nicest people I have ever met? The answer is simple, YES, YES, and YES.
It is an amazing place that just keeps getting better.

 

Room Tip: You can't find a bad room in the place!

 

Reviewed August 2, 2014 - Excellent Stay, Great People

 

We just came back from our second year staying at Bowens. Last year we rented a one bedroom cottage, this year a two bedroom.It was immaculate. The bathroom was clean, the bed sheets clean and fresh. I didn't smell any mold at all, which is good, since it would have triggered allergies all weekend for me.I love staying at privately owned places, especially when the owners are on site. They are friendly and engaging and always accommodating. My son had a tennis lesson - with the owners, Eileen and Kevin. doesn't get more accommodating than that! The grounds are expansive, they have a well kept pool. They allow dogs which is great, since we like to take our Chihuahua with us when we travel.
There are some really good restaurants in West Hampton. Our favorite is Edgewater which is about a 15 minute drive.
The beach is also a short drive away, and its a very nice, well kept beach.
it’s a very affordable place for a family. I highly recommend it to anyone who just wants a weekend (or longer) getaway.

 

Room Tip: I highly recommend the cottages. They are self standing and a good distance apart from each other

 

“Better than home feeling! Perfect location! Close to beach and stores. We loved the pool, tennis courts and grounds! Amazing” - Reviewed August 2, 2014

 

This was our first family vacation and it was amazing! Very friendly people and beautiful grounds! The cottages are adorable and our kids loved it! Very home like feeling and very convenient for families. Beaches are close by and beautiful. The owners really care about their guests. They assisted us with a surprise flower delivery for my mother in law

 

Excellent Stay, Great People – Reviewed August 2, 2014

 

We just came back from our second year staying at Bowen’s. Last year we rented a one bedroom cottage, this year a two bedroom.It was immaculate. The bathroom was clean, the bedsheets clean and fresh. I didn't smell any mold at all, which is good, since it would have triggered allergies all weekend for me.I love staying at privately owned places, especially when the owners are on site. They are friendly and engaging and always accommodating. My son had a tennis lesson - with the owners, Eileen and Kevin. doesn't get more accommodating than that! The grounds are expansive, they have a well kept pool. They allow dogs which is great, since we like to take our Chihuahua with us when we travel.There are some really good restaurants in West Hampton. Our favorite is Edgewater which is about a 15 minute drive. The beach is also a short drive away, and it’s a very nice, well kept beach. it’s a very affordable place for a family. I highly recommend it to anyone who just wants a weekend (or longer) getaway.

 

Room Tip: I highly recommend the cottages. They are self standing and a good distance apart from each other

 

“Better than home feeling! Perfect location! Close to beach and stores. We loved the pool, tennis courts and grounds! Amazing” – Reviewed August 2, 2014

 

This was our first family vacation and it was amazing! Very friendly people and beautiful grounds! The cottages are adorable and our kids loved it! Very home like feeling and very convenient for families. Beaches are close by and beautiful. The owners really care about their guests. They assisted us with a surprise flower delivery for my mother in law. They even sent us a picture of the flowers when they arrived. Love this place! We will definitely be back every summer!

 

“absolutely incredible” Reviewed July 4, 2014

 

Spent two nights there this month (July 2014), and as before I was astounded by the friendly service and incredible cleanliness. I was there for a wedding that took place in their beautiful gardens with the reception on the tennis court. Even with over 150 people at the wedding, the spirit of courtesy and efficiency by Kevin and Eileen Bowen made this a stay that was a delight. Kevin, although on crutches, was everywhere making sure all went smoothly and seeing to everyone's needs. Eileen, the master organizer, had selected caterers and support people with such care that all I heard were effusive accolades. The following morning Eileen surprised all the guests with a Sunday morning breakfast. Later in a walk through the flower gardens, I spotted the staff carefully sorting the containers from the reception into barrels for recycling, proving there is more to Bowes's that a facade-they believe in doing things right!

 

Room Tip: Ask Eileen for a recommendation. All the rooms open to the flower gardens.

 

“No finer place on Long Island!” Reviewed July 3, 2014

 

Our whole family just spent a long weekend at the Bowen’s, We took over the entire place, all the motel rooms and cottages as well for a family wedding which was held on their grounds. I can’t say enough about the work and effort that went into making that special day. The grounds were picture perfect, and the motel rooms were simply amazing! Charming, well appointed, spotlessly clean, comfortable and the best part is you park, come in through the door, and you are looking at sliding doors that open to the beautiful gardens! The cottages that other family members were staying in were just as perfect! The thought that goes into decorating each and every one is a testament to the Bowen’s comment to provide you with the charm, along with all the modern conveniences we have all become accustomed to. Our stay at the Bowen’s by the Bays could not have been better! The friendly atmosphere, gracious hosts, amazing grounds, and don’t forget the beautiful pool made the wedding one that was both unique and unforgettable! Each and every guest staying there loved the place, and we all plan on returning whether celebrating a special occasion, or to just kick back and have a nice relaxing couple of days. Thank you to the Bowens for making our stay one that we all will treasure!

 

Room Tip: The rooms are all simply perfect, all open up onto the beautiful grounds, and have seating right out...

 

-

 

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages with our 2yo daughter for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. We had a great experience and would definitely go back. The cottage itself was perfect. It was cozy and clean inside and out. The cottage has a screened in porch area with a picnic table and though we did not get to use it, an area to grill outside. There is also a mini playground on the property, which is ideal for young children. The entire property is beautiful. The LIRR runs right behind Bowen's, though that never bothered us at all. There is a Dunkin' Donuts, Panera and Shop Rite within walking distance (Shop Rite is literally across the street). There is also a diner within 5 min, but we never went b/c Eileen recommended other places to eat (which were great--especially the breakfast spot--though the name escaped me at the moment).The ocean beach is a short drive away. The main attraction for us was the Long Island Game Farm, which is about 20 minutes by car. My daughter LOVED it there.The service was great. They allowed us to check in a little early to accommodate my daughter's nap schedule. (The crib they provided was also in good shape with clean sheets--and not all are!). Eileen was extremely welcoming and friendly. She even taped handwritten directions to the Game Farm to our door while we were out for breakfast. Overall, a great place to stay.

 

 

 

 

“Great value way to see the Hamptons.” - Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in August for 3 nights en route to New York. Easy to find , lovely location . Even though it is by the main road once inside it is very quiet and peaceful. My six year old loved the cowboy themed room. Rooms open onto lovely garden and a stroll to the pool.
Owners very courteous and nice touch to provide a treat bag on arrival .
This is not 5 star luxury but as a value way to see the Hamptons I highly recommend .

“just perfect” - Reviewed October 24, 2013

Annabelle, my pug dog and I have just returned from 3 lovely, peaceful, private (our own charming cottage) days spent at Eileen and Kevin's "Bowens" by the Bay! Lovely bright happy flowers surround the grounds, love is truly in every detail and Eileen and Kevin are splendid hosts, helpful, friendly and accommodating in every way. Annabelle and I have found our "perfect" home away from home. "Kudos" Bowens, you are truly one of a kind!

“Wonderful place to stay” - Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at Bowen's by the Bays and we were not disappointed. Eileen was very gracious and helpful. She recommended several restaurants, even one where we could bring our dog to sit on the deck. Our cottage was very clean, spacious and had so many windows, which was great to let the fresh 'country' air in. We loved having a deck to sit out on and enjoyed our snacks there one afternoon and so did our dog! The grounds are beautifully kept and lovely to walk around. We liked being within walking distance to the town. We will be coming back and have re commended this place.

“Hamptons convenience without the big price” - Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located in the Hamptons community with the most waterfront and convenient to water sports, beach visits and many fine restaurants, this delightful place is clean, quite, attractive, and very affordable. A great place for a family week-end or a place to stay when visiting friends or relatives in the area. This is a true asset to the entire Hamptons community.

“Our Favorite Vacation Place” - Reviewed September 19, 2013

  • This is the 7th year my husband and I have gone to Bowen's. Just got home Saturday. It is still the best as far as we are concerned. It is still very clean and comfortable and sooo relaxing. Looking forward to next year. Thank you Eileen, Kevin, Mary and Anastasia.

“Don't Go Anywhere Else” - Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed in probably hundreds of hotels, in dozens of countries on five continents. Bowen's By The Bays is my favourite. I like 5-star luxury, don't get me wrong. But Kevin and Lee Bowen ditch the concierge and personally do all they can to make your stay here as near perfect as possible. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. There's places for the children to play but with plenty of trees and plantings sound is dulled and it isn't noisy. Every cottage is different having its own individual character. The motel rooms are immaculate, well-appointed and comfortable. If your ideal hotel has a guy waiting to bow and hold your robe open when you get out of the shower then Bowens is not for you. If you enjoy the personal touch and a friendly, welcoming, unpretentious reception in a beautiful tree-and-flower setting or if you're only ever going on one vacation stop looking now.

 

 Reviewed August 21, 2013

Last summer my daughter, my 2 grandkids, our family dog and I spent 3 nights/4 days at Bowen's. We had such a great time we couldn't wait to book a full week for this year. Once again, we had a lovely vacation experience. In addition to the comfortable, charming cottage, delightful pool and georgeous grounds, we much enjoyed the screened in porch, relaxing hammock along with the BBQ pit. Eileen and Kevin (the owners) could not be more accomodating - as well as their staff. Shopping is 3 minutes away and the beaches 3 miles. What more could you ask for?

“Hidden Gem” - Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm very familiar with the Hampton Bays area as my mother in law used to live in nearby East Quogue. My husband and I have driven past Bowen's countless times but we had no idea of what a charming hotel it really is. We were in town for the weekend visiting family. I was just looking for a clean and convenient hotel to be close to where we were visiting family. I was very impressed with the previous reviews so I felt comfortable with my choice. Eileen was nothing but responsive and pleasant to deal with. The hotel room was spacious, clean and charming. Our king size bed was so comfortable! We had a little patio outside our sliding glass doors. The room had a small fridge. The ground are beautifully maintained and landscaped. Such pretty gardens and ambiance! We really were only there to sleep but we would definitely stay there again!!!

“What a jewel in the crown” - Reviewed September 7, 2013

After driving out from JFK along the many auto ways dodging traffic and mad drivers it was like pulling into Shangrila when we arrived at Bowens. We pulled off the highway into a wooded vale that had a range of colonial style cabins all fitted out with everything to allow a familly of 4 to sleep, shower and even prepare meals either on the Barbecue or in the massive oven and hob in the well equipped kitchen.What was even more surprising was when we walked towards the hidden highway across the road was a very large superbly equipped supermarket with plenty of fresh food and a short walk away was a bakery with the ideal coffee shop.Bowen's was equipped with an outdoor swimming pool and wifi so what more could a traveller seeking to spend a few peaceful days prior to driving further to a familly wedding and for those of you who like to spend time on a sandy patrolled beach this was only 1.5 miles away. Alas on the final day we had to move in to two rooms in the motel because a familly gathering of about 40 took over the cabins something they did year on year. Not only did Bowen's owners make us welcome but so did the familly that came after we had been there 2 days. Again the rooms were excellent, as were all the facilities and by using the outside tables and chairs we were able to take most of our meals.To repeat an excellent place to stay whether for a few days or longer.

Cozy, peaceful and comfortable” - Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family of three plus doggy love staying in their cottages. We had to ask ourselves, "how do they do it"? the answer is simple- the Bowens are on-site and know exactly how they want things to be. Landscaping with much attention to preserving nature's beauty, cleanliness, welcoming to all, kids and beloved pets included.It is a place where little things mean a lot, and add up to a wonderful place to stay.
The Hampton Bays location is great for visits to other towns on south and north fork,and we had ample opportunity to see many other lodging places on our day trips. No contest! We will be back . All I can say is that I'm sure it is gorgeous there in fall, and Eileen tells me they remain open until Columbus Day. There's still time!

“Beautiful, comfortable, relaxing vacation” Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband & I wanted to get away for a few days of relaxation....to celebrate our recent marriage. We were thrilled to find Bowen's by the Bays, a beautiful place where we could escape from our hectic lives & even include our Golden Retriever, Casey. Not only were the accommodations perfect for us, but the owners made us feel so at home. From the initial phone call to place the reservations, to reluctantly leaving and saying good-bye, we had a great feeling we had chosen the ideal vacation spot for us. We'll definitely make a return visit next summer.....and many more visits to come.

“Great Stay!”  Reviewed August 6, 2013

We felt welcomed since the initial contact with Bowen's. The owners are very friendly and the site is beautifully landscaped with a pool and tennis court and pretty gardens. We stayed in one of cute cottages with a nice porch and our own little garden, close to our parking space. The way the cottage faced gave us plenty of privacy, which was perfect as we had our Labrador Retriever with us. The bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room were clean and comfortable. We recommend the location of the hotel also as being central to that area of Long Island.

“This place defines Family” -Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is my 7th year at Bowens by the Bays. Until this year, I rented a one room cottage for my Golden Retriever, Abigail and me. Abigail passed away last fall, and I now have a new 1 year old Golden, Isabelle. It was always peaceful and I only had my dog with me, and the time spent at Bowens was so very relaxing. With a new puppy in tow, I thought that this year might be time to change things up. At Eileen’s suggestion, I decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom cottage and invite my daughter, her husband, and my two grandchildren (ages 1 and 3) for a few days. Since I have been so used to being alone with just my dog, I was not sure what to expect. What the trip enabled me to do was to see Bowens through different eyes. Since it was always just my dog and me, I was unable to notice the absolute “family atmosphere” that the Bowens provides. I think I was either out with my dog, or on the hammock reading. Watching the Bowens work all day is exhausting in and of itself! I witnessed Kevin, stopping guests to make sure everything was ok, and heard his signature phrase, “if you need anything, let us know”. I watched my grandchildren play on the Jungle Gym and the swings. I watched my older grandson stay in the pool almost all day and it was such a nice feeling seeing them that happy. For two nights, we cooked out and sat around and talked. Again, I always knew this was a family place, but this last trip really opened my eyes! I could not imagine going anywhere but Bowens, especially after this trip. The cottages are spotless, service second to none, and I saw quite a few families there, something else I never really noticed before. I was still able to take my dog to the bay and ocean (both scared the puppy), but we had a great time. The only thing I would have changed is that I would have had my entire family stay the whole week. When they left on Thursday night, I missed “family feeling” and some hustle and bustle of two young grandchildren! Bowens really does define a family vacation. Can’t wait till next year.

“Perfect for families with children and/or pets” - Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location could not be better for making yourself feel at home in the Hamptons. Very close to all kinds of food and beverage shopping as well as sundries. The staff, every one of them that we came in contact with, were really nice and helpful. The cottage we stayed in was dated and not glamorous BUT could not have been any cleaner or better equipped for making us feel comfortable. The setting is so sweet, so many flowers and shade trees, hammocks at each cottage. We will stay there again, a great choice for that east end getaway.

“Bowen's is Worth a Visit” Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bowen's for a little under a week near the beginning of July and couldn't have been happier. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Because we were there mid week, we basically had the place to ourselves. Even with all there is to do in the Hamptons during the summer, probably the best part of our vacation was relaxing and swimming in the pool at Bowen's. I would highly recommend this place for a stay that won't decimate your budget and provides the peace and relaxation needed in the hustle and bustle of a Hamptons summer.

“Bowen's is Worth a Visit”- Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bowen's for a little under a week near the beginning of July and couldn't have been happier. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Because we were there mid week, we basically had the place to ourselves. Even with all there is to do in the Hamptons during the summer, probably the best part of our vacation was relaxing and swimming in the pool at Bowen's. I would highly recommend this place for a stay that won't decimate your budget and provides the peace and relaxation needed in the hustle and bustle of a Hamptons summer.

Great experience, Great people!” - Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can't express what a great experience my first stay at the Bowen's place was. The personal interaction was great. With wife and two kids, didn't know whether to stay on grounds and experience the tranquility or go out and visit sites. Have to say the nights and days spent on the grounds have much more memories that will last a long time. I'm excited about any trip back to the area and it would absolutely be at the Bowen's!

Perfect stay for couples, families, and pets” - Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed on a weeknight in July without advance notice as we decided to extend our vacation and didn't want to return to the city heatwave.
A great value for a private cottage with strong AC, hammock, cable TV, comfortable and new. Had our dogs with us who behaved well and were comfortable. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. The pool was spotless and they were adding water to try to cool it off with the mid 90s temps. The grounds were well maintained and plenty of parking. Close to grocery and Petco if any items were needed.
Beaches were very nice and not crowded. Much better than going all the way to East Hampton or other pricier, far out areas.

“Put a bow on Bowens by the Bays” - Reviewed July 19, 2013

Looking for a relaxing setting in a woodsy environment? If your destination is Hampton Bays,don't look any further than Bowens by the Bays.Nice comfortably cooled rooms make sleeping an easy proposition.Large flat screen HDTV is available in your room for your viewing pleasure.Enjoy hamming it up in a hammock?Guess what?That is also available!Want to practice for your next tennis tournament?Go volley yourself silly on their tennis court.If becoming the next Michael Phelps is your goal,try lapping it up in their very comfortable pool.The proprietors,the Bowens,are very accommodating and will do their best to make your stay a very enjoyable experience.It was very difficult to leave at the end of my 4 day vacation,and I believe you will feel the same sentiment at the end of your stay.

“Good Place Run by Very Nice People” - Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, toddler and I stayed here a few weeks ago, and we enjoyed our visit. The room was cozy and comfortable. More importantly, Eileen was extremely kind to my son who was sick during the trip. As anybody with small children knows, traveling can be very stressful especially when a little one is sick. Eileen was extremely helpful and made us feel very comfortable, even though we needed to call on her for extra help. I'm very appreciative and look forward to a return trip

“Really nice experience” - Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a great place for us to stay with our lab this past weekend. Cute, clean pool, hammocks, and adorable cabins. The cabin was super clean, smelled like fresh laundry and had everything necessary for a week stay (we only were there one night). The bed was super comfy and the staff was really nice, very down to business. You get a treat bag when you check in- snacks are always welcome. It is about a 10 minute drive to the beaches, but a really direct route and the beaches are beautiful. Parking is free all the way down the end, to the left, after you cross the bridge there. Overall a really nice experience and a very comfortable place to stay

“Really nice experience” - Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a great place for us to stay with our lab this past weekend. Cute, clean pool, hammocks, and adorable cabins. The cabin was super clean, smelled like fresh laundry and had everything necessary for a week stay (we only were there one night). The bed was super comfy and the staff was really nice, very down to business. You get a treat bag when you check in- snacks are always welcome. It is about a 10 minute drive to the beaches, but a really direct route and the beaches are beautiful. Parking is free all the way down the end, to the left, after you cross the bridge there. Overall a really nice experience and a very comfortable place to stay. 

“Wonderful Stay!” - Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the pet friendly cottages, but you would never know it. Very clean and seems on the new side, nice enclosed porch and plenty of room outside to sit and enjoy the lovely grounds. The cottage that we stayed in is close to the highway, which I thought would be distracting but turned out not to be an issue at all. Eileen was very helpful with any questions I had with the area. Pool looked lovely but didn't have a chance to use it. One area restaurant that was very good is Cowfish.

“AMAZING EXPERIENCE” - Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a very quaint and and family friendly place. The Bowen's are very hospitable and offer an wonderful setting for a summer stay. We will be returning for many years to come and we think all will be very comfortable here.

Loved the charm and flowers” - Reviewed April 26, 2013

I got relaxed walking through the grounds looking at all the flowers and trees,loved sitting by the pond. Great sunning by the pool, and playing tennis. So much stuff and still a feeling of country. Short walk to town. Owners live on premise which is nice they take care of the place.is review?

Liz M1 review2 helpful votesProblem with th“Great Place to Stay in Hampton Bays” - Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely setting, clean, cozy, pool, tennis, can get a room or a bungalow. Owners are
wonderful and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Also well located to all areas
of the Hamptons. Have to call a few months in advance to be booked in the summer.

Lovely Place to stay at reasonable rates” - Reviewed September 24, 2012
Eileen provided us with a spacious immaculate room & en suite including a terrace overlooking a park-like garden. Our host was very helpful, recommending a nearby restaurant for a wonderful dinner.
After staying in many glamorous B&B’s over seven weeks travelling south along the New England coast, Bowen’s was an unexpectedly lovely place to stay at half the price!

April 2013 -  Loved the charm and flowers

Jim D - "I got relaxed walking through the grounds looking at all the flowers and trees,loved sitting by the pond. Great sunning by the pool, and playing tennis. So much stuff and still a feeling of country. Short walk to town. Owners live on premise witch is nice they take care of the place. "

March 2013 -  Great Place to Stay in Hampton Bays

Liz M - "Lovely setting, clean, cozy, pool, tennis, can get a room or a bungalow. Owners are wonderful and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Also well located to all areas of the Hamptons. Have to call a few months in advance to be booked in the summer. "

September 2012-  Serene and Relaxing

Maureen M - "I have visited BOWENS BY THE BAYS prior to this year and have never been disapointed. KEVIN AND EILEEN are very willing to accommodate your every need.Our room was nicely decorated with a cowboy theme and was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with flowers everywhere! The pool was a gem as well as the play gym and sandbox for the kids.We also got a chance to enjoy the tennis court. The beach was only 3 miles away and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area. We will definitely be back!! "

July 2012-  Thanks again

S.T. - "I want to thank you all so much for our wonderful stay at your resort. The gardens are gorgeous and the pool wonderful. Although I am sure you have been told this before - you take such care to make each room so individual - I don't know when I have ever been to a hotel or motel of bed and breakfast that has so much care taken. I know it must be a lot of work to keep it looking like that but you all make is seem easy. I am also thinking about that shuffleboard which I haven't played in years - I am going to have to come back for that! "

June 8, 2012 - Lovely, beautiful and peaceful!

Manderson639 - "We had a great stay a Bowen's. We are a family of five travelling to the area for a family wedding. Eileen was very accommodating and recommended a 3 BR cottage for us. It was just perfect -- clean, fresh and so comfortable. There are many little homey touches that add to the atmosphere of this quiet place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and although we did not have time for a swim, the pool looked awesome! The location was very convenient -- right off of the highway -- and the little shopping center across the street came in handy for a morning coffee and donut run (although there is a coffee maker and coffee in the cottage). We were so busy with the wedding activities of the weekend -- I just wish we had more time to relax at this beautiful place. P.S. I kept calling our cottage the "house at Pooh corner" in the hundred acre wood -- it's just that special! "

May 22, 2012 - Relaxing retreat

Julie248 - "My parents, my dog, and myself stayed in one of the 2BR cottages at Bowen's for a long weekend out of the city. Eileen was beyond helpful on the front end, assisting us with selecting the perfect cottage setup (with the right number/kind of beds, enough privacy for everyone, etc) and responding to questions when my plans almost changed at the last minute due to work. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and given a welcome bag (complete with some local info and a dog biscuit). Upon our request, Eileen recommended nearby restaurants for dinner and marked a map for us with their locations - they all turned out to be delicious.

The property is very well maintained with lots of lush grass, shady trees, and pretty landscaping. My dog really enjoyed his walks on the lawns. On that note, it really was a pleasure to stay where dogs are truly welcome rather than just allowed. Our cottage was also adorable and home-y. The bed was the most comfortable hotel/B&B bed I've slept in lately, and it was great to have a living area and kitchen. The best part was probably the screened porch our cottage had, along with the hammock out front. Sitting on a porch or laying in a hammock are just about the nicest ways to start and end a day.

"I had not been to the area before, but I found Hampton Bays to be charming and close to the other places we wanted to visit. It also had plenty of nice restaurant options for dinner, plus there is a grocery store across the street from Bowen's if you want to pick up some supplies. "

May 21, 2012 - A pleasant surprise

Nrock - "Our family of five, plus dog, stayed one night this past weekend. I wasn't expecting much from a motel and cottages located between a state highway and the railroad tracks but was very pleasantly surprised. Our greeting was very warm and the welcome bag a nice touch. There has been a lot of love, thought and effort put into to grounds and you can feel it, hammocks outside every cottage, new flowers planted everywhere and everything tidy. Despite the challenges of the location already mentioned I didn't notice either the traffic or the trains particularly. Our boys were very pleased with it and would be glad to come back. I debated whether to give it the highest review since it's not a luxury hotel but decided to go ahead since it is certainly the best of it's type that we have visited. If we had a need to be in Hampton Bays or the Area again I would be happy to stay another night. "

August 17, 2010 - The Perfect Getaway!

Theresa S. - "The resort is absolutely heavenly - picturesque and peaceful with plenty of activities for everyone in the family with the ocean just a few miles away. The decor is lovely and the rooms/cottages are clean and well-equipped. The owner and staff are absolutely the nicest people I have met in a long time. It was our first trip to Bowen's but will not be our last!

This resort is a hidden jewel!"

"Many Hamptons hotels don't offer much value for money, but Bowen's by the Baysis an exception. It attracts loyal guests who return again and again to enjoy immaculate rooms, sprawling grounds and a welcoming staff. It's an ideal place if you're traveling with kids. The property has a pool, tennis and shuffleboard courts, and even a fishpond and playground."

New York Daily News - April 4, 2007
Hampton Family Life Magazine - June/July 2004

This family-owned resort in Hampton Bays is celebrating its thirteenth summer for good reason. The three-acre property boasts not only nine regular rooms but also one-, two- and three-bedroom private guesthouses surrounded by flowers and a stunning waterfall. Proprietress Eileen Bowen says, "it has the personality and feel of a B&B but the privacy of a hotel. And we're very family oriented. A lot of places don't want kids." That's right, it's a recommended stop for your relatives with pets and kids - or simply restless uncles who can't last a day that doesn't include tennis whites.

Kevin Bowen, Eileen's husband, is a tennis pro who has brought his talents to the business. Instruction is offered day and night on an onsite lighted tennis court. The kids can keep busy at the pool, playground, shuffleboard court and putting green. Mom may be meandering over to the koi pond for some contemplative R&R while she watches fireflies flit about her iced tea.

While Bowen's has a more modest, campground look than many other resorts, each room is beautifully decorated, some with hand-stenciled furniture. Your family can also skip out easily to go riverboat cruising or on winery tours, visit a petting zoo or aquarium and go outlet shopping. And it's equidistant from many points east and west that offer glitzier fare - should your visitors prefer celebrity to cricket sightings.

Petside.com - May 13, 2009
Petside Picks: Pet Friendly Hotels

Petside has found the most pet friendly hotels in the nation! These locations offer the most amenities and the best service to their four-legged guests of any hotels in the US. From Los Angeles to New York City, your pet can have a first-class experience away from home, no matter how far you travel. So next time you vacation with your pet, check out these locations to ensure a great stay for you and your furry friend:

#4 Bowens by the Bays
Why we love it: Animals of all species and sizes are welcome at this Hamptons resort. Pets are free to romp and play on four acres of property. They also have house-like cottages which may make your pet more comfortable.

Bowen's named "Eco-Warrior"
Blue Moon Media Group - 2007

"In contrast to Xanterra's massive environmental investments are the basic, yet groundbreaking, beginnings of eco-tourism on Long Island's East End. In Hampton Bays, Bowen's by the Bays resort's three-acre grounds have been transformed from sandy lifeless soil to lush gardens, using organic, eco-friendly duck manure, local seaweed and mulched leaves. Bowen's washes all linens on site and opts to dry them the old-fashioned way: on the line.

Reviews posted on Trip Advisor

"fabulous experience"

ivy_jim
sebring FL
Jan 21, 2010 | Trip type: Couples

This resort is the most enjoyable stay possible. Incredible cleanliness, friendliness and value. The resort has an excellent pool, tennis court, (Kevin, an owner, is a teaching pro), and unbelievable gardens. A family owned and operated resort where Eileen and Kevin Bowen will go the ultimate mile to assure a pleasant stay. The rates are very reasonable for the area and the resort in on an acreage isolated from the hubbub of traffic. Overall, I would rate this as the most enjoyable experience I have ever has in the area.

"It was very enjoyable"

Gardenergal
New York
Sep 18, 2009 | Trip type: Couples

My husband and I and our toy poodle and Cat, just returned from a 5 day stay at Bowens. This property consists of housekeeping cottages and a Motel unit on perfectly manicured grounds. They have a large outdoor swimming pool, a tennis court, where you can take tennis lessons, a play area with monkey bars and swings for the children. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a kitchen, and a living room with cable TV. The proprietors and staff were very accommodating. The cottage was neat and clean and very comfortable. This is the fourth year we have visited and plan to go again next year. Edie

"This is the place to relax"

babydaze92
Delaware
Aug 9, 2009 | Trip type: Solo travel

This is my 4th year at Bowens by the Bay. I am from Delaware and usually take 5 days a year off to "recharge". This will sound crazy, but I take my Golden Retriever with me. It's just the two of us and it is the only time I can really "unwind". If you want to relax, this is the place! The staff is superb, service excellent, and the accommodations, well I couldn't ask for more. When checking in, I was greeted by Eileen Bowen. She handed my "gift bag" with water, some snacks, and dog biscuits. The rules for my dog (i.e. leashes, etc.) were included and specifically addressed to "Abigail", my Golden. They don't miss a detail! Upon entering my cottage, the aroma of "cleanliness" was apparent. I took my Golden to South Hampton (highly recommended) for lunch. Many of the restaurants with outside seating are very accommodating to pets. A good run on the beach (after 6pm) is fun, and back to the cottage for some reading. There are many things to do there, pool, tennis courts, tennis lessons, or you can just walk along the 4 acres of ground and adore the flowers! I have never seen such beautiful flowers throughout the property! I would highly recommend, and will be counting the days till I can unwind next year.

"Nice place to stay!"

JKLCapeCod
Cape Cod
Jun 18, 2009 | Trip type:

Couples Me, my husband and two dogs travel to Long Island in the fall each year to enjoy the grilled corn, shopping and foliage, and Bowens could not be any more accommodating. We stayed in an adorable screened in two bedroom cottage with our dogs. The place was immaculate, comfortable, and the customer service received by the owners (from original email to check out) was top notch! She even came over to our car when we were checking out to pet our dogs :) Can't wait to get back there this October.

"Delightful Retreat"

Messyjesse
NY
Dec 1, 2008 | Trip type:

Business It's a little strange to mail a check in order to reserve a room these days - but our stay here couldn't have been more pleasant.
The grounds of the motel are great, a playground and tennis courts, and a great little pool - you feel sufficiently sheltered in by the trees. Room was very clean, bathroom and shower were clean and modern - although it's clearly a mom and pop run business, they were quite friendly and immensely helpful and honest when suggesting local options for dining and taxi cabs. I would highly recommend and plan on staying here again.

"Terrific Hamptons Hideaway"

JML17 1 contribution
New York
Sep 15, 2008

We spent a relaxing weekend at Bowen's by the Bays this summer. The room was immaculate, the property and landscaping was beautiful, and the staff was very friendly. The location is great too, right near town and only a short drive to the beach. There is a lot to do without even leaving the property, such as playing tennis on their beautiful court or relaxing by the pool. It was a great place to stay and we're looking forward to returning.

Tranquil, beautiful!

Beth2u 5 contributions
NYC
Sep 3, 2008 | Trip type: Family

What a wonderful, beautiful place! We enjoyed our stay and definitely will return next year. My husband booked this place for us because he didn't want us driving back home at night. The kids loved being in the pool. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, the grounds are well kept and the owners are so pleasant and accommodating Our room Lobelia was clean as a whistle. There is a brand new McDonalds and Stop and Shop across the street - which is great. Yet once you enter the gates of Bowen's it's another world. Loooved it!!